Time Machine’s Child

“Are you sure? This is a tiring job. This looks like another blue sofa” he said.

“Yes, and you have to turn it around” she said.

“We have been turning blue sofas around for quite a long time. We turned them around so many times that some of them are now in their original positions. Why are we in this furniture shop in the middle of the night? You told me that we will hide here until the shop closes and there is something which is a matter of life and death. Now, you are turning blue sofas around. Have you completely lost your mind?” he asked.

“I am trying to reach a certain pattern. Can you just trust me for now?” she asked.

“Yes, I can do that. But turning blue sofas around at midnight is no sign of trust” he remarked.

“But it is so in this case”.

“Well, this is too strange. I have seen many kinds of people, but none of them keeps turning the blue sofas around in a furniture store at midnight for no reason” he said.

DSC06166

“Okay, please read this then. It has enough details” she said while giving him a book.

“Your diary? No, I would rather turn the blue sofas in all directions”.

“But don’t you want to know why we are turning the blue sofas around?” she asked.

“Yes, but I don’t want to read the terrible details in there. None of it makes any sense” he hesitated and turned another blue sofa around.

“It is about a time machine and the future” she said.

“I wonder why it is not about the fairies”.

“Well, it is a long story. There is a myth not much known. It is about the opening of a portal which initiates a lost time machine as it alters the balance which is maintained between the past, present and future, and the machine will come through from an alternate reality”.

“You used to talk about a time machine since you were a kid. I have often felt that you were seeing things which were never there. I often feel surprised that you see less these days” he said.

“Yes, I used to provide you the information which was fed to me from the future. I know the source now. It is from someone who was lost during time-travel, and there is a machine which lost its way into that reality which has no connection with ours. So, we have to open the portal to know about it better” she said.

“You could have chosen someone who believed, and not me. For me, this is really tiring” he said.

“Wait! Something is happening. Keep watching” she said as she looked under one of the sofas.

A light appeared from under one of the blue sofas and covering the same, shadowy figure appeared. With a long tail, two horns, two giant wings and fangs, the creature came out from under the furniture and stood tall. Its wings covered most of the width of the room and the horns were burning blue. Its fangs were bloody and its eyes were red. There were flames in its right hand and darkness as a globe in its left hand.

“Who are you? Where are you from?” they asked while trembling in fear.

“I love this blue sofa. So you want to know. Well, I am many things. In simple terms, I am the death of goodness; very often, I am the plasterer of falsehood and the darkness of your own soul. You have seen me on many occasions, but you have never really noticed me. I am all around you in the form of abuse and hatred. The creatures from the other world call be by many names. But you can call me Mephistopheles. History has known me by that name. There is no question about where I am from, because I am beyond the realms and I can deny the concrete existence of any known place in your world as I can alter its reality” it said.

It is to the insides of Earth that we have to return, for we are dust.

“This is really not good. I was so wrong” she remarked.

“You have invited me to your world. Now let me take it step by step. There is enough hatred in your world for me to thrive on. I shall make it destroy life like the flames in my hands and spread further like the shadows in my other hand. But I need to start taking over from some point, and I feel that I should start with you two right now, right here. Interesting, isn’t it? it asked.

“I really wish there was a time machine, and then you could have gone back in time and watched supernatural horror movies instead of the science fiction fantasy” he whispered in her ears as the demon set the room ablaze while shadows covered the building from outside. The shadow cover in the night made sure that the flames were not seen by the people in the vehicles who passed through the roads on the way to the airport. A burning diary flew out making its way through the shield of shadows and landed inside a waste bin which also caught fire.

This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda.

***The images used in this blog post were taken by me on my Sony Cybershot Camera in the last few years.

TeNy

11 thoughts on “Time Machine’s Child

  1. Pingback: 300th Post Nihilism | The Tea Cerebrations

      • Hahaha athe. Ipolthe discussion points illathe avumbo irrational points parayua. Allenki point 1 ilek thirich pokua. Discussion loop il akumbo next level 2. abuses! Pinne chila chetnmaarund. Directly level 2 ilek pokunna type.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Team aayi vannu level 2il start cheyyunnavalle ippo kooduthal 😀
        Fans aanel eppo poi ennu vecha mathi! Theatre cheetha vilikkal okke high level alle! Roadil aanel eee vandiyil irunnu cheetha vilikkunnavare appappol fine adikkan camera vechu koode aavo 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.