FPFS1: Wars of the World

DSC02600

Vampire Owl: Why did you teleport me here? I thought we would be travelling through India.

Vampire Bat: Isn’t it because William Shakespeare’s work, Henry VI, Part 3 Act 1, Scene 2 is set here? I can smell history and literature here.

Uncle Dracula: No, it is because I am going to use this imagery of the ruins as a base for what I am going to say. I can’t say this at most of the historical monuments in India because some people will consider me as an anti-nationalist at one place and some others will consider me against their religion at another place. This is more of a safe place and it is rather a civil war area. So, I can talk about this in peace.

Vampire Owl: Okay, then. Lets come to the point. My zombie minions are waiting. There are big plans for the weekend.

Uncle Dracula: I am speaking about your owlification procedure. Do you really need that? It is more like a war. We have our own vampire divisions among us, and being an extremist is not the right thing. Be a moderate. It is in our blood, as extremism is for the humans, and many other groups like werewolves. See how the humans have been going through their wars. See the remains of this battle or any of those meaningless things of hatred that the humans have committed, and they don’t even live forever.

Vampire Bat: Humans have been caught in their web of hatred for centuries. They will only kill each other for one reason or the other. When they don’t have religion, they will only find another reason. It has been going on through centuries as we have seen them.

Vampire Owl: But I am planning to save the world through a superior owl ideology.

Uncle Dracula: It is exactly the same as all those war-mongers say. There is no superior ideology which you can force into others through violence. Anything that is spread through violence cannot boast to be the right thing.

Vampire Bat: And the shedding of blood; it is the waste of our elixir of life, don’t you realize that feeling?

Uncle Dracula: If they like your ideology, they will follow you. For now, you seem like that person who forces your religion up-on others through swords, guns, daggers, dynamites and bombs. Don’t ever do that being part of the vampire family.

Vampire Bat: And stop trying to add special owl worship by spreading the idea that owls were the first creatures on Earth. That won’t sell.

Vampire Owl: What? Who told you that?

Vampire Bat: It was the Vampire Crocodile. He saw you installing a bronze statue of an owl with a sword on the eastern side of the Werewold prayer centre.

Vampire Owl: He is everywhere! One day, I am going to take him to Lake Placid.

Uncle Dracula: This is not about him; this is about you and our community. On this place where the Battle of Wakefield occured on 30 December 1460, I want you to take the pledge that you will never go extreme like the humans, and that never will you try to go for owlification again. I request that you never go for violence which can devastate the name of the vampire kind and make them seem as terrible as the humans. On this place where Richard, 3rd Duke of York, a great-grandson of King Edward III had fallen, you will take the oath of peace and non-violence.

Vampire Owl: Can I just do that tomorrow? Today is Good Friday, a holiday.

Vampire Bat: I see that he wants to start the war today itself after you enter your coffin.

Uncle Dracula: Right now, and you know that I don’t count days. I have lived in a coffin for so long without thinking about the days of no significance which passed through my immortality.

Vampire Owl: Okay, I take the oath in the name of our vampire elders not to be a violent extremist who goes for war and bring shame to the vampire-kind. Sounds good?

Uncle Dracula: I don’t like the way you said it, but I still want to believe that you can keep that oath.

Vampire Bat: Can we just go through this historical site, please?

Uncle Dracula: Why not? Lets add another chapter to our immortality lessons.

I have been tagged by Maniparna to take part in the Five Photos Five Stories (FPFS) challenge. This challenge works like: You post pictures for five consecutive days (with possible discounts like sometimes changing to alternate days :D) and attach posts to it, fiction, poem or short write-up. It can be anything that suits your taste. I am also tagging my wonderful blogger friend, Ranjini on Day One, as part of the challenge, and I will tag a new person on Day Two. 

***The image used in this blog post was taken by me on my Sony Cybershot DSC-W310 camera.

TeNy

6 thoughts on “FPFS1: Wars of the World

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.