Listening to Silence

Vampire Bat: What are you doing here? This is rather too early, don’t you think?

Vampire Owl: I am listening to the voice of silence and making an attempt to communicate through it.

Vampire Bat: By which, you mean to say that you are standing on one leg and looking at the sky.

Vampire Owl: What? No. This is just what you see. It is just an external feature, and what you see on the outside is just an illusion. Internally, I am making connections with the other world, to the land of the dead. Lady Death will be contacting any moment now. Please go and return with a chair. A wooden one will be nice.

Vampire Bat: Oh! In that case, you should have done it at your place. Why did you come to my home instead? Don’t you have open spaces there?

transyl (2)

Vampire Owl: Because I needed silence. It is a little crowded at my house. Can you please stop talking? Only by connecting with the voice of silence can I send my message to the other world. Wait! What is that noise? A cat? Tell it to stop.

Vampire Bat: It is Simona the Kitty. She is one year old now and takes her own decisions. She won’t stop until that squirrel on the tree stops making faces at her. That thing has been bothering her for many days.

Vampire Owl: I was concentrating so well on the voice of silence! This cat is so evil!

Vampire Bat: Wait! Is that lady in black on your right the side the person you were looking for? I think that she needs a visit to the dentist soon.

Vampire Owl: Oh! Yes, it is Lady Death. She made it here, and that too so quickly.

Lady Death: I received your message and roasted two souls in hell-fire.

Vampire Bat: You didn’t tell me that you were having Soul Fry these days, Mr. Vampire Owl?

Vampire Owl: I don’t understand what you are talking about. I don’t try new types of food these days.

Lady Death: I was working according to your message about the noise of violence. Don’t you know that I have always been violent? Your message came to me as a case of special inspiration.

Vampire Owl: It was the voice of silence! But how do you know about my method of connecting with you?

Lady Death: There was this message with the connection – “this connection is made through and for the noise of violence”. So, I started some burning a few souls.

Vampire Bat: Bloody advertisements!

Vampire Owl: Stop talking about violence. It is the voice of silence. And also stop thinking about burning souls all the time. Here, we don’t even get LPG and the gas subsidy is going to removed. I always wonder how you manage the hell-fire out there. Is it true that it burns forever? The idea of perpetual damnation is very popular among the zombies.

Lady Death: We burn the souls which create certain energy which is converted into fire and then we burn the souls in the same fire. Souls are replenishable energy. There are so many new ones arriving there and we often have so much extra fire that we sell some of it to the Dwarves for their gold and special engineering products. It is a secret pact, just don’t tell anyone.

Vampire Owl: The other world is indeed strange.

transyl (1)

Vampire Bat: I told you that she is a bad underworld queen. You should be very careful; you know how it works after you cross the gates of the dead. You are going to be fried too.

Lady Death: So, where do you keep the fire in this side of the realm?

Vampire Bat: Feel free to show her your version of hell-fire at your place. I am not part of this pact.

This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda.

***The images used in this blog post are from the Official Facebook Page of Hotel Transylvania.

TeNy