The Chaser of Dreams

He was always good at chasing dreams. The result was that he could always find the right paths which lead him to great success multiple times. But he often felt that he had chased them so much that he often forgot to live. His friends had also warned him about the same. His parents had also told him to work less and live more. He used to spend a lot of time thinking about the same. It was at night on a rainy day, that he found what had followed his earlier dreams and what should be done. He decided to come back at the same time every day for weeks, until there was some progress in the later stage of his story. On that special day, the rain was once again there and so was the lady.

“How many times do I have to tell you not to chase me. I am not the one you are looking for. You don’t need me at all” she screamed.

“But you are the only person whom I ever wanted. I have known this throughout my life, and I am sure about it now” he said.

“Don’t you have your dreams? I know that you have a lot of things which you desperately want to accomplish in your life. Can’t you go after them instead of bothering me?” she asked.

“You are my dream. Not just any dream, but the one true dream. You just keep following me inside my head whatever I try to do. I feel very much inspired for the same” he said.

Darkness spreads. But how fast can that happen?

Darkness spreads very fast. Dreams often get completely lost in them.

“I have a lot of work to do. Do you see this list? This is the list of people whom I have to meet tomorrow, and I have this complete list of work which I have to do before the next Christmas. There are lots of special days in between too. There is nothing about us here. Do you have any idea how difficult it is already for me? Do you understand that I have no time for this?” she asked.

“Yes, I know all that. I have been seeing you every night at this exact time. You are a busy person, and so am I. But I can help you with these. I just need to be with you. Just be kind enough to provide me with a chance” he begged.

“This is really getting ridiculous. You seem adamant. Okay, you have been asking for so long. I agree. You are going to get what you want” she said.

“What? Did I hear it right? You really do agree? So we will be together forever like a beautiful fairy tale which has no ending?” he asked with a certain amount of surprise.

“Yes, for eternity; forever and ever as they say in those strange little stories, even though I don’t believe in even one of them” said the lady as he fell down dead. Lady Death took out a diary from her bag and tore up a page. She put the paper in the trash can on the road side and told herself “I hope that the minions at the other world won’t mind a few extra souls coming early. Some people will just keep asking for it, and it is so heart-breaking for me to refuse. After all, I am such a good person”.

Is there a sign of relief among the dark clouds?

Is that sign of possible relief among the dark clouds actually the symbol of the end?

She had a look around. As it rained heavily, she opened the umbrella and walked towards the distant light. The flickering source of light seemed to be moving away, but she kept following it slowly. Meanwhile, two figures emerged out of the shadows and looked at the corpse.

“And then he quit the conventional way of love and life. Some people really ask for death, don’t they? Do you have any idea what his inspiration might have been for doing so? How could this have become a dream for him?” asked the Vampire Bat.

“I have absolutely no idea even after such a long time on this planet, even though I have surely made a lot of guesses. It should be a human thing and often even what these creatures thinks about thinking is completely beyond my understanding. Actually, it is good that we are immortals and back from the dead. Otherwise you and your good friend might have been already dead” said Dracula as both of them had one stare at a police jeep approaching before going back into the shadows.

This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda.

***The images used in this blog post were taken by me on my Asus Zenfone 5.

TeNy

12 thoughts on “The Chaser of Dreams

  1. Kind and comforting ..that’s what your lady Death seems to be . For me ,this one is one of the best written pieces of yours. Touching …..I mean it .
    Evolving by every ghastly nightly hour and by every blood suck Teny …eh ..are you ?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

