Not the Centre of the World

Some people think that they are the centre of the world, and everything should revolve around them. I don’t mind if they are made the sun and all the other lesser people who are the planets had actually wandered around, heating the tea on the sun’s head and drinking the supernova brand of the drink. I have had the privilege and honour of having a lot of such people around me, but there are only a few things which have surprised me more these days. *The images used in this blog post are from the wikipedia page of the solar system.

I don’t usually go to any forums, and I have kept that policy going for years. I am not that much of a talker, and interaction has never been my special ability. But one day, I became curious, and thought that I had to see what the fellow bloggers would be talking about, and then I realized that the blogger world doesn’t have that much of the radiance that I thought it had. Yes, I had believed that almost all the bloggers wrote for the same reason – to bring to light your ideas, memories and feelings (not considering previews, reviews and such stuff), but it turns out that it is not that much there.

I am so big, everyone else is so small; how can I not win a contest?

I am so big and awesome; how can I not win a contest? Some people choose to wonder.

Yes, it was the only reason why I started all of my blogs. My first two blogs were in blogspot which I used for my personal thoughts as well as about the world. I also had two other blogs which had fictional stories which I connected to my life as well as the movies I watched. Then I settled with four blogs at wordpress which I still have. I started the first one for my wander quests and the next one for my movie love. The third one was futuristic fiction in which characters reflected my philosophy, and this last one is about random thoughts.

Coming back to my point, don’t we all write to satisfy our need to write? I thought that it was why people started blogs. I agree that there are people who write to get paid, but isn’t the love for writing the most important thing? Then you ask about writing for contests. Well, we shouldn’t sacrifice our ideas for that. The participation should be because we have another challenging topic to write on, and not just for material benefits. When I am given a topic, I am happy that it is given to me. Even at the college, when I got an assignment, I was extremely happy.

Yes, we should expect the prize, whatever it is. But we can’t always expect to win something. You win something at times, and there are occasions when you win nothing after trying too hard. It is the way of life. Sometimes, you might end up winning nothing for years. But it shouldn’t mean anything. Participation is the most important thing and the one thing for which we should strive for, and the hope for prize should only inspire us – shouldn’t make us desperate, unless you are hosting the contest by yourself.

Respect the right of others to win and also the right of the sponsor.

Respect the rights of others, my dear pseudo-fire-starters – it is all part of the chain of events.

If there is a contest sponsored by a certain firm, it is your option to participate in it or not to. You might or might not win the prize. You should write because you got another topic brought before you and the prize is just something of a special motivation. Nobody owes you anything, and you don’t have the bloody right to come out of it with a prize, as if there is something like the certainty of death. I think that those who make ridiculous comments for not getting rewarded is no real blogger. Some people do talk about it in a respectable manner whether it is personal or objective – I respect that, but there are others. Your best reward should be your mental satisfaction and then the likes and those positive comments.

Yes, appreciation is a must. But it is not something that is gained by winning contests. It is something that is won in the long run by people reading your work and admiring it, getting mention for the huge amount of effort you have been putting into it for years. A contest will have its winners and it is their right to choose, and if it is a contest with a first come first serve basis an you were not fast enough, you have no right to blame anyone. Yes, one can protest, but in a dignified manner. We are not little kids looking to win prizes and cry otherwise. Even in some of the most difficult computer games, you win experience by just trying.

I have lost more contests than I have won, and I have often put my contest entries at the wrong place. But I haven’t complained and neither have I mentioned it somewhere. I should have contacted the support team of the website and asked them to change my entries to the right place. But no, I didn’t do that because I have self-respect and I understand that it is my mistake for which I shouldn’t bother the site’s team; and I can win something someday if I try hard – and I don’t consider my attempts a waste. I accept rejection because it is a fact of life.

Lets respect the fact that there are contests. There could have been life without it. I shall write on a contest as long as the topic has even a small thing of my interest. There is effort taken to publish a post, and I love to take that effort, because I am a blogger and this is what I do. There is no waste here and I choose not to hide my thoughts for a prize. I am a blogger because I write unconditionally. Even when the need for appreciation keeps honking at me, it is my pledge and my privilege to keep writing even with none. It is something that I have promised myself, with the certainty of a vampire drinking blood and a zombie eating brains.

As Indi(an) bloggers, We Blog, Therefore We Are – right? I choose not to challenge my existence. I also choose not to interfere with your choice. Keep blaming your stage, my dear performers; if you need to – but I don’t consider it a righteous move.

TeNy

12 thoughts on “Not the Centre of the World

  1. I can rightly guess where you’ve actually visited and faced the ‘harsh’ reality 😀

    Jokes apart, a post with which I agree completely…..a competition or contest which lacks the sporting-spirit is almost synonymous to enmity and you’ve missed the most aggressive ones, I must say, for they seem to be inactive nowadays 😛 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Teny! My gosh! Somehow, I am able to relate with what you’ve posted here. Firstly as you mentioned in my post and you stood right… I ended up posting in a wrong place for the contest; Second, is that I too participate in the contests, where it relates to my personal experience ONLY.

    I don’t know what happened, the result of which this post came, but I hope everything is superb at you end 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can identify, Teny!
    Even I take part as I love contests & I love writing too.
    For the recent Safe Driving one, I have 3 posts as I had points to share & prompts to link & connect.
    Haven’t won even a consolation prize in so many contests. In 1 contest, I had 17 posts, yet didn’t win anything!
    But, as you have mentioned, I have won appreciation of my efforts by fellow-Bloggers & personal satisfaction 🙂

    I have been planning to share a post on the “abuse” one faces if one is a winner of a contest! 🙂 Some people are ready to witch-hunt! 🙂
    I know from the limited winning experience I have had 🙂 🙂
    Stay blessed!
    Happy X’Mas! Advance greetings for you & your family!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you; wishing you the same 🙂
      We win something and somebody else wins something else, and some people don’t like the “else” part, and I wonder why they can’t think beyond that – I thought blogging makes us think beyond that. I will wait for your post 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

